Who maintains the CNA registry in North Carolina?
Department of Health and Human Services
Division of Health Service Regulation
Health Care Personnel Education and Credentialing Section
2709 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-2709
Who investigates complaints in your state?
Department of Health and Human Services Division of Health Service Regulation
Health Care Personnel Registry Investigations Branch
2719 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-2719
In North Carolina, the Department of Health and Human Services is responsible for maintaining the CNA registry. The NC DHHS holds the authority to investigate and discipline any individual who has been found guilty of a violation of the Nurse Aide Practice Act and rules.
CNA License Requirements in North Carolina
To get a CNA license, One must first take a NC CNA program and certification exam. After passing with a score of 70% or higher, the state will issue the license. To find a CNA program in North Carolina visits our this post.
Follow the steps to get a CNA license in North Carolina:
- Step 1: Choose a CNA program
- Step 2: Complete the program
- Step 3: Schedule your CNA board exam
- Step 4: Pass the exam
- Step 5: Get your license
How to Renew CNA License in North Carolina?
In North Carolina, CNA license must be renewed every 2 years. To renew, you can submit an application to the Board of Nursing. You will need to provide proof of completion of 8 hours of paid work within your previous certification period, Volunteer service doesn’t count as work.
Follow the steps to renew your CNA license:
- Step 1: On the CNA Registry website, verify your license status.
- Step 2: Click on Renew CNA License.
- Step 3: Read the renewal requirements and fill out the application.
- Step 4: Pay the renewal fee. (If required)
- Step 5: Receive confirmation massage of renewal.
Minimum 8 hours of paid work within 24 months
Two to Three Weeks
How to Verify CNA License in North Carolina?
North Carolina has an online verification service available for 24/7. To verify the license status, go to the URL below and follow the process. You can also call the registry or visit in person during the office hours to verify your CNA license.
North Carolina License Verification Online
Transferring Out of State CNA License to North Carolina
In North Carolina, a nurse aide who holds a license from another state must first complete the NC Nurse Aide I training. Then, they may take the NC Nurse Aide I examination to be certified.
For more information contact the registry office.