Who maintains the CNA registry in New Mexico?
New Mexico Nurse Aide Training & Registry
New Mexico Department of Health
Program Operations Bureau
2040 S. Pacheco Street, Suite 237
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87505
Who investigates complaints in your state?
DOH/DHI/Program Support Bureau
2040 S. Pacheco Street
2nd Floor, Room 202
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87505
Phone (toll-free in state): 800.752.8649
The New Mexico Human Services Department (HSD) and the New Mexico Department of Health (DOH) are responsible for maintaining a registry of Certified Nursing Assistants.
The New Mexico Department of Health also manages the Prometric assigned to manage the CNA exam. The purpose of this organization is to make sure that all participants in the program have passed the exam and are qualified to practice as a Certified Nurse Assistant (CNA).
CNA License Requirements in New Mexico
A CNA license is required by the state of New Mexico in order to work as a CNA. To be eligible, you must be at least 18 years old and have completed the necessary training hours with an approved CNA program. Additionally, you must pass the board exam with a required score.
To learn about the requirements and coursework for the program, read this post.
Follow the steps to get a nurse aide license in New Mexico:
- Step 1: Find a state approved nurse aide program.
- Step 1: Complete the required training hours.
- Step 2: Pass the New Mexico CNA test.
- Step 3: Apply for the certification.
How to Renew CNA License in New Mexico
The New Mexico Board of Nursing requires that a Certified Nurse Assistant (CNA) license be renewed every two years. To renew the license, the CNA must be employed in a position that requires them to work at least eight hours of paid work, a criminal background check, and a drug test.
You must submit the renewal application to the New Mexico Board of Nursing. This includes completing a renewal application and submitting all of the required documents that are required for your license.
Follow the steps to renew your nurse aide license:
- Step 1: On the CNA Verification website, verify your license status.
- Step 2: Download the renewal form
- Step 3: Read the renewal requirements and fill out the application.
- Step 4: Pay the renewal fee.
- Step 5: Submit the application with required documents.
Minimum 8 hours of paid work within 24 months
Two to Three Weeks
How to Verify CNA License in New Mexico
The easiest way to verify your license status is to visit the registry website here. You will need to enter your first and last name, date of birth, and social security number. Once you complete this step, click on “Search for License Status” and then click on “Verify Status”.
However, You can also call the registry at (505) 476-9040 or visit in person during the office hour to verify your license.
Transferring a Out of State CNA License to New Mexico
New Mexico has agreements with many other states via certification by reciprocity. If you hold a licensing in one of these states, you can transfer your license to New Mexico without taking the state-specific exam. However, It requires an active and in good standing certificate from the original issuing state.
Minimum Two Months
Contact the New Mexico CNA registry for more information.