Who maintains the CNA registry in Florida?
Florida Board of Nursing
4052 Bald Cypress Way Bin C-02
Tallahassee, FL 32399-3252
Phone: (850) 245-4125
Prometric Testing Information
Who investigates complaints in your state?
Florida Department of Health
Division of Medical Quality Assurance
Consumer Services Unit
4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin C-75
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-3275
The Florida Board of Nursing is responsible for maintaining the CNA registry in the state of Florida. Prometric administers the NNAAP competency examinations on behalf of the Board. The board uses the registry to track the number of CNAs who are practicing in Florida, as well as to keep track of any complaints or disciplinary actions against CNAs.
CNA License Requirements in Florida
To become certified as a CNA in Florida, you must complete a state approved CNA program and pass the board certification exam. There are many different CNA programs available in Florida, so you can find one that fits your schedule and budget.
Once you have completed the program, you will need to pass the board exam. The board exam is administered by Prometric and consists of two parts: a written component and a practical component. You will need to pass both parts of the exam in order to become a certified nursing assistant.
How to Verify CNA License in Florida?
The Florida Department of Health (DOH) is responsible for administering and regulating the CNA licensure process. To verify a CNA license in Florida, individuals can visit the DOH website and use the verification tool. The verification tool allows users to search by name or certification number. Once you entered the required information, the license will be displayed, including the expiration date of the license.
Florida CNA License Verification
How to Renew CNA License In Florida?
In Florida, CNA licenses must be renewed every two years. In order to renew, you must complete 24 hours of paid work within the past 2 years. You will also need to submit a renewal application and pay the applicable fee. The renewal application can be found on the website of the Florida Board of Nursing. The renewal fee is currently $55.00.
Minimum 24 hours of paid work within 24 months
Two to Three Weeks
Transferring a Out of State CNA License to Florida
Nurses who are certified in other states can transfer their certification to Florida by endorsement. The nurse must be in active good standing in the state from which they are transferring. They must also have their fingerprints taken and sent to the Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE) for clearance.
Contact the registry for more information.