You have to undergo a long training program if you wish to get CNA certification Maine, this program is longer as compared to other states and the rules in this state are also quite stringent.
However, if you plan to join the healthcare industry where you get a decent pay, then becoming a CNA is a very good choice.
There are many CNA training programs in the state where you can take up this course and get a job of your choice.
How to achieve CNA certification in Maine
Maine has one of the strictest laws to abide by; it is not very easy to become a CNA in this state. Though you just need to be 16 years old and complete your ninth grade to get your certification, you should also undergo a training of about 180 hours, which is much more than the number of hours fixed for CNA by the federal law.
You should join a training program that is approved by the state and after you complete it you should take and also pass the state competency test. This test is divided into two parts, the written test and the skills test.
The written exam will consist of multiple choice questions and the skills test in which you have to demonstrate three skills out of five skills. The five skills that you get to choose from are among those skills that you learnt during your training program.
After you pass your test, you will have to submit all your of your documents to the state Registry. It will take at least 30 days before the registry to decide if you are eligible to get certification.
Requirements for CNA certification Maine
If you wish to get certified as a nurse aide in this state, you should be at least 16 years of age and should, have a document to prove that you have completed ninth grade of school and should be able to read English of ninth grade level.
This is unlike CNA certification in Louisiana, where you should be at least 18 years of age and should have your high school diploma to get yourself certified as a nurse aide.
You should also undergo a training program approved by the state and that provides training for a minimum of 180 hours of training. Out of this, about 110 hours are dedicated to classroom training and the remaining 70 hours are dedicated to providing clinical training to students.
You will be placed on the Registry only after you complete your training program, pass the competency test and meet the other state requirements. These include that the students should be in good standing, which means that they should not have been accused of felony, theft, or consuming or possessing drugs.
Step 1 – To download the application click the link below:
Step 2 – Submit your application to the following address
Department of Health and Human Services
Licensing and Regulatory Services
Maine Registry of Certified Nursing Assistants (CNA)
41 Anthony Avenue; 11 State House Station
Augusta, Maine 04333-0011
If you need any help, you can call at (207) 624-7300 or email the state Registry firstname.lastname@example.org
Cost of CNA training program in Maine
The minimum fee for a training program in this state is about $450; Maine is a state where you will find that the training programs are quite affordable. However, when you check the fee for a particular program,
see if the fee stated includes the supplies like stethoscope, scrubs, uniform etc; also check if there is any associated cost.
There are several medical facilities, long term care facilities that provide free training to CNA aspirants. However, they have a selection process in which the candidates are shortlisted on the basis of a test and an interview.
Most of these healthcare providers reimburse the amount they spent on training the candidate after they are hired in their organization and receive certification within one year of being trained. So, you have to pay for the training initially and the money will be paid to you at a later stage.
There are grants and other financial assistance that CNA aspirants receive from courses.
You can apply for a nurse aide at a nursing home or an elderly care facility as a trainee and get trained to become a nurse aide. But you will have to work there for a minimum duration once your training is over.
Renewal of CNA certification in Maine
After you get certified as a nurse aide, your certification will be valid for the next two years. After that you should renew it on the Registry before it expires or else you will not be allowed to work as a CNA in Maine.
You should have worked for pay for a minimum of 8 hours and should not have any criminal records or been charged of neglect or abuse of patients.
Thirty to sixty days before your license expires, you will be mailed a reminder from the Registry to renew your license to the address of correspondence that you have provided to the registry.
To download the renewal application click the link below:
There is no fee charged to renew your license. The first time you need to renew your certification, you will have to slightly earlier the above stated time given for renewal.
In case you want to relocate to this state from another, you will have to apply for reciprocity and also ensure that your certification is active in your current state.
If not, you will have to undergo a training program approved by the state and also pass the competency test for the nurse aides to be placed on the Registry.
Maine CNA reciprocity
Getting your CNA license transferred to Maine Nursing Aide Registry is simple. The only requirement that is considered while going through reciprocity application is a good standing and a valid license.
You need to submit an application and the transfer fee, which in case will not be more than $50. The time taken to grant your permission for working in Maine will depend on how fast the Registry completes your background check and other formalities.
These are all the related information about nursing in Maine. . The local aide nurse registry would provide you more detailed information whether you are applying for the nursing license for the first time, or you have already obtained a license in another state and wants to work as certified nursing aide in Maine.
The average salary of the nurse aides in the state ranges from $22,000 to $26,000. This may vary from one city or region to another and the experience that you have.
Although there are many challenges that you will face as a nurse aide, you will be able to overcome them with experience. This is a profession where you can get immense job satisfaction and also have potential for growth.
Nursing assistant license will help you for your lifetime regardless of the city, state or country you live in. You will continue to earn even if others are losing their jobs.
Joining the nursing industry is always a rewarding and gratifying experience. You can choose to enter this field either by completing a LPN (Licenses Practical Nurse) or a RN (Registered Nurse) course.
There is even a better and easy way by joining CNA training course. Completing the nursing aide course and passing the state certification exam will ensure a place for you in the medical field.
According to the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act, every state should provide information related to nursing to people who wanted to pursue their career in this field, evaluate their skills before registering them, provide placements, and enforce certain rules post to certified nursing assistant training.
The Maine Registry of Certified Nursing Assistants follows these rules sincerely and coherently. If you belong to Maine State, you must know CAN requirements, salary, training and reciprocity before taking the training course.